SATURDAY MORNING

nation of this region, much of which is shared by our brothers and sisters of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).

16. RESOLUTION "APPRECIATION FOR U.S. SUPREME COURT JUSTICE THURGOOD MARSHALL"

Mr. Hatfield drew the attention of the delegates to New Business Part III, Page 17. He moved the adoption of the Resolution "Appreciation of U.S. Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall." There was no discussion.

91-GS-20 VOTED: The Eighteenth General Synod adopts the Resolution "Appreciation of U.S. Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall."

APPRECIATION OF U.S. SUPREME COURT JUSTICE THURGOOD MARSHALL

WHEREAS, United States Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall has announced his retirement from the Supreme Court;

WHEREAS, Justice Marshall made a profound and historic contribution to the pursuit of equal justice under the law for all persons during his quarter of a century tenure on the Supreme Court; and

WHEREAS, the United Church of Christ is theologically committed to equal justice for all.

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, the Eighteenth General Synod of the United Church of Christ expresses its great appreciation for the outstanding contributions and leadership of Justice Marshall in the development of progressive jurisprudence in the United States of America.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Eighteenth General Synod affirms the principle of inclusion in representation on the Supreme Court.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Eighteenth General Synod calls upon President George Bush to fill this vacancy on the Supreme Court with an African American who is committed to the pursuit of equal justice under the law in the legal tradition of Justice Marshall.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, the Eighteenth General Synod of the United Church of Christ calls upon instrumentalities, conferences, associations and local churches of the United Church of Christ to celebrate the legacy of Justice Thurgood Marshall and to communicate our appreciation of the contributions of Justice Thurgood Marshall to the President of the United States.

17. NOMINATING AND SECONDING SPEECHES

The Moderator called the delegates' attention to the Standing Rules, No. 26-37, particularly to the rule regarding the time allowed for the nominating and seconding speeches for the various offices and specified that according to the General Synod Handbook, all such speeches are to be made from the platform. She also reminded the delegates that only printed matter which has been approved by the Business Committee

may be distributed on the Synod floor and that there are to be no demonstrations on the floor of the Synod. She then outlined the procedure for nominating and seconding speeches.

The Rev. Gayle Engle (KO) made the nominating speech for Ms. Edith Guffey, the candidate for Secretary. The seconding speeches were made by Ms. Stella Schoen (OH) and the Rev. Henry Simmons (NY).

The Rev. Armin Schmidt (CAIM) made the nominating speech for Mr. Anson Baker, the first candidate for layman on the Executive Council. The Rev. Jack Probst (SW) made the nominating speech for Mr. H. Eugene Johnson, the second candidate for layman on the Executive Council. The Rev. Robert Witham (NH) made the nominating speech for Mr. Neil Cass, the third candidate for layman on the Executive Council. The Rev. Suzanne Bernhardt (Cal. N)) gave the nominating speech for Mr. Joe C. Thomas, the final candidate for layman on the Executive Council.

The Moderator indicated that there were no other elections for which nominating and seconding speeches were required.

18. REQUEST FOR PRAYERS FOR TOM DIPKO

It was announced that the Rev. Tom Dipko, Conference Minister from Ohio, will be attending the memorial service for Ms. Judy Dipko, the late wife of his brother. The Ohio Conference asked for prayers from the Synod.

19. COMMUNITY BUILDING

Ms. Ann McDonald led the body in a time of community building. They sang two songs.

20. PRESENTATION OF THE JUST PEACE AWARDS

Moderator Gosselink explained the history behind the awards. She called on the Rev. Jeanette Good, the Chairperson for the Office for Church in Society and the Rev. S. Garry Oniki, Interim Executive Director of the Office for Church in Society, to present the Just Peace Awards.

Mr. Oniki presented the award to Ms. Dorothy Maeda, and Ms. Good presented the award to the Rev. Theodore A. Braun. The presentations included a video film of both honorees at work in society. The Just Peace Awards presentation also included an award to Mr. Nelson Mandela. Mr. Oniki described the work of Mr. Mandela. His acceptance of the award was recorded on video and shown to the delegates.

21. RECOGNITION OF SIGNERS

The Moderator acknowledged the work of the signers, Ms. Annette Bene, Ms. Sharon Britt, and Ms. Kyle Lovett.

22. ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECESS

The Moderator called on Ms. Bernice Powell who gave the announcements. The Moderator then declared the Eighteenth General Synod in recess until 2:00 p.m.